Man-Buns: Not for Everyone

My co-worker and I had a long discussion the other day about the man-bun and the inevitable accompanying beard. You see, one of my friends has had long hair for about the last four years and now has a rather excessive beard. It wasn’t a problem at first, but I’m afraid it has now gone on too long. Because, you see, this man-bun look that is rapidly gaining popularity only really works on the un-real.

On the fictional, the famous, the other-worldly.

In terms of male hair trends, long hair is hard to pull off and it is hard to maintain.

It shows grease (if you think greasy hair is good looking, you are looking at professionals who have been styled and primped, it doesn’t look that goo naturally) and doesn’t always fall the way you want it to and can generally be a mess.

But it can also look good.

man-bun

And that’s the tricky part because they look better a little messy. A little texture can go a long way when trying the man-bun, so it is best recommended for those with curly or wavy hair. Hozier’s hair is the perfect example. The natural wave and body looks good down and long or up.

Scruff also helps balance out the man-bun. Whether because there is a lot going on on top or because the bun is too slick, the scruff balances the face, while also adding a little ruggedness. But, do not let your facial hair go any farther than scruff or a really well trimmed beard. Any more and it veers into mountain man territory. (I know LumberSexual is a thing, but they are not the same thing, trust me, I’m a Westerner)

more man-buns

But here is what it ultimately boils down to, all of the men above are pretty darn attractive, but the vast majority are more attractive with shorter hair. That may be personal opinion, but like my co-worker and I said at the beginning, you pretty much have to be un-real to have a man-bun look good all the time. If you are going to go for it, just know it won’t always look great, that sometimes you will fight with it, and it will drive you nuts at some point. So choose wisely.

2 thoughts on “Man-Buns: Not for Everyone

  1. Soo Im a senior in high school and I’ve decided to grow my hair a little. I think this is kinda my last moment of freedom before entering college and the adult world and I want to experiment now while I still can. I dont think Im going full man bun, but any tips on growing it out? My hair is at my eyes in front and collar in back, medium thickness, dark brown and slightly wavy if that helps. Great post btw:)

    • The end of high school and college are the perfect time to try growing your hair out or mixing it up. Tons of people are trying to find the look that works for them or just not getting it cut regularly. I’ll try to put together some tips for growing your hair out, but until then, just be sure to avoid the mullet and euro-mullet at all costs. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

