A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

Here’s the thing about party/going out/club clothes, men really don’t have to do anything. At least not compared to what most girls do. As I was thinking about this post, I actually went back and flipped through Uni pictures to see what the guys were wearing when we went out. My findings? It’s pretty much regular stuff, maybe a little more exciting than usual, but not really.

As we’ve established and re-established on WAMSW, basic solids are hard to beat, but…this is a party, it’s time to take a risk or two.

If you’re not ready to jump in with two feet, go for a subtler look:

The Subtle Clubber

A plain or monochromatic tee will do you just fine. As will a button-up with the sleeves rolled and the buttons done. Add a basic jacket if you want another layer, but really these are solid, no-risk looks.

If you are looking to kick it up a notch:

Crash the Party

The easiest way to raise the stakes in your party-wear is with color and pattern. Clubs are dark, throw on the most florescent tank top you can find. Break out that shirt that looks like it should have come from the late 80s or early 90s, but that you really bought just last week.

If you aren’t sure what to try just check out the kings of party, Walk the Moon. These guys never slack on color, pattern, or body paint, no matter how unorthodox it seems. (I mean, I’m pretty sure that is a Where’s Waldo tank, so there’s that).

Speaking of…the pièce de résistance.

The real reason I wanted to write this post is quite simply this jacket:

A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

I mean wow.

This is what Nick Petricca wore when Walk The Moon performed on Jimmy Fallon recently and I love it. In some ways it is almost understated, because as fabulous as sequins are, they don’t actually scream as loud as neon colors can. It would be overkill if he’d tried to pair it with other loud pieces, but the monotone outfit balances it.

Basically, I wanted this jacket on my blog (and my body, it’s amazing) and it is the right way to take a risk.

Parties are an excuse to go a little wild, so do it.

Leave a comment