On your toes – Winterwear shoe edition

Today was our first snow. Usually I detest snow. I traditionally complain and pout in a very unbecoming fashion. Today was different; today I actually dressed appropriately for the weather: jeans, over-sized sweater, and boots. I believe it’s the fact that  I wore weather appropriate footwear that I could appreciate the snow and not whine like a 4 year old at bathtime. I, perhaps, might have even considered it breathtaking, and maybe even wanted to go out and frolic in it and catch giant flakes on my tongue. That’s the power of appropriate footwear. Never underestimate it.

So what does appropriate men’s footwear look like right now? Let’s start with what it doesn’t look like, shall we?

Why are these wrong? I don’t even know if I should dignify that with a response, but I will try.

1. The terrible color and stitching in all of them.

2. The rounded toe of awful.

3. The completely obvious tread and traction.

4. Why do the ones on the left have such a heel? I don’t get it

5. The complete lack of form or shape in any of them.

We’ve all seen these shoes in our lifetime. Every time I see them I cringe. I understand if you’re a farmer or you work in construction. I get it. Steel-toed-what-have-you. Go for it. But if you’re not at work or on the farm I suggest something a little more…appealing.

I would venture to say that not all men would find the above footwear necessary at work. So here’s what I deem appropriate (snow-proof-ish) winter work footwear (these can also work incredibly well for parties, dates and other social outings):

More along these lines

Notice the understated toe, the thinner ankle, the pronounced shape, and the lighter feel, in general. These are still boots and will still keep your feet warm and dry, but you can also be taken seriously at a business meeting with any one of these choices.

I also understand that there are certain instances where you want to feel a bit more manly and rugged. Say you’re going to chop down a Christmas tree or wrestle an alligator. These are what I suggest:

Rugged. manly. leather.

A nice weather proof base with a solid leather upper. A perfect mix of elements. If you want to also throw on a pair of distressed jeans and sit in a field as well, I won’t judge you. Boots can be pretty spectacular and inspire you to do some bizarre things.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

