Tweed!

Let’s start with a personal story, shall we? One of my favorite pastimes/hobbies is going to thrift stores and digging out great deals on clothes and shoes (don’t knock it till you’ve tried it…and washed it). Most of what I wear comes from the likes of Goodwill, St. Vincent de Paul’s and Deseret Industries. On one of the many occasions that I’ve gone thrifting (we’ll shorten it for today) my father happened to tag along. Now don’t get me wrong, my dad is the most amazing man in the world and the best dad you’ve ever met. Seriously, I firmly believe those things. But my father is not exactly known for his sense of style. He buys his jeans from Costco, tucks in his polo shirts, and wears cargo pants as often as he can. So when he came up to me that day, excitedly asking for my opinion on something he’d picked out, I was a little skeptical. Then he showed me a Tweed Blazer (yes I made it a proper noun, get over it). My father’s sense of style suddenly went up several notches. Somehow, he had sifted through all the crap and found a gem. I was proud. He now wears that jacket whenever he can and I have no complaints. Come on, he looks like a freaking professor. That’s just cool.

So the tweed blazer. What’s so great about a stuffy jacket? Oh, I don’t know. Maybe its the structure. Maybe it’s the reminiscence of intelligence and class. Maybe because Indiana Jones can wear a tweed blazer and a leather jacket and manage to look like a rock star in both. I’m not sure. Whatever it is, it’s working.

If you want to look smart, pull on a tweed blazer. If you want to trick someone into thinking you have style, tweed blazer it up.

Moral of the story: own a blazer, a tweed one. Get to a thrift store and start searching.

-Rachel

P.S. Amy is in no way a proponent of thrifting. I am bad at it and I have seen it go badly many a time. If you must, please use discretion and don’t buy everything just because it is only $3. But yeah, go with the tweed.

One thought on “Tweed!

Leave a Reply

