Watch out

Everybody knows that girls love shoes, right? Well I feel like it’s a lesser known, but still completely true, fact that guys love watches. I don’t know what it is about them, but most guys get a little surge of energy when passing a watch counter. Their gait slows, their eyes rove over the selection of Diesel, Citizen, Fossil, Garmin and countless other brands I’ve never heard of. Their breathing slows, their eyes dilate, their hand gently caresses the glass separating them from the worlds oldest and most basic electronic. Simply put, they are in heaven. Now I’m probably exaggerating here, but I do know plenty of dudes who drool over and collect watches.  I mean if girls get their shoes then guys can have their watches? It’s just funny that something that I don’t think anything about could be such a big statement to a man.

But thankfully, even though I don’t think anything about them, designers do. There are so many different options to choose from these days no wonder people collect them. You can get a bright, bold color or a plain black or brown. You could get hip rubber, classy silver or gold, durable canvas or rugged leather. Do you want digital or analog or maybe a sundial (kidding…I think)? We’ve got the skinny, medium, large or EXTRA LARGE (seriously, they’re huge. That one, I really don’t get). You could go pocket or wrist. Plain Jane, I-simply-tell-time or extra fancy James-Bond-esque. It’s becoming a bit confusing and slightly excessive.

As I’ve said, I don’t particularly sit at home and think about watches. It’s just not my thing. But I will tell you what I think looks the very best: leather (for manliness), analog (for it’s class), medium to large (so I can see  your forearm), maybe an extra or two (but no bombs or anything).

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

